The Great Failed Experiment

Hi!  Remember me?  I’m the guy that used to write a post every day here.  Then, through the vagaries of life and children and jobs I kind of let it go.  I haven’t posted meaningfully here in quite some time.  Some would call it lazy, overwhelmed, writer’s block; there are a million different reasons most of which have to do with the sheer scarcity of time.  However, I am going to assign 95% of the blame two things:  Facebook and the HTC Droid Eris.

About a year or so ago, some dipshit (me) thought I should have a MySpace page, to keep up with people in a certain part of the family.  After about 8 minutes of MySpace, I realized I was about 20 years too old for that, and gave up.  I then moved on to Facebook, and that was where all of my family, peers, and old friends really were.  So began the Facebook odyssey. 

I began to rely on Facebook to keep me in the loop.  Most of the people I interacted with outside of work were on there, and it seemed a reasonable outlet for some of my thoughts.  Slowly, I began to fall away from posting on this blog.  Hell, who are we kidding; I basically stopped.  I thought it was OK.  I was still keeping up on local stuff through old friends at WNYMedia.net.  Many of my blogger friends were on Facebook, too, so I didn’t feel like I was missing anything.  Facebook became the replacement for my blog-based world, with one small difference:  I wasn’t writing anything anymore, which was OK, because I thought I didn’t have anything to say, or time to say it.

The second scapegoat is my new HTC Droid Eris.  I got the unlimited data package, and it’s perfect for keeping up on Facebook and Twitter, but definitely not for composing anything more than 140 characters at a time.  Also, I can maneuver it with one hand, which is perfect when you’re holding a brand new baby boy.  Everything seemed cool, but I still wasn’t writing anything worth a damn, and it started to bother me a little. 

The big realization, epiphany, awakening, fizzling light bulb above my head, whatever you want to call it, came last night.  Kevin and Kate and Ryan were on Twitter and kicking around an impromptu “blogger” get together at a local bar to watch the Sabres game tonight.  At that time it occurred to me that I couldn’t honestly consider myself a blogger anymore.  That thought pissed me off, and also made me realize that I really missed blogging, too.

So, in order to redeem myself and justify my presence at a “blogger” get together, I am going to try to get this blog moving again.  That might mean a bit less Facebook.  I don’t think Twitter’s going to take a hit because it’s perfect for fun and distraction at any time of the day.  But I will be spending more time here than I have in a long time.  I hope it works.

3 Responses to “The Great Failed Experiment”

  1. Wheat Roll Says:

    Red is back! Red is back! Red is back!

  2. Pauldub Says:

    About damn time! I thought I was bad with the posting. Then again, I have no kids at home, no real excuses….

  3. An old pal Says:

    Welcome back,
    To that same old place that you laughed about.

    Well the names have all changed since you hung around,
    But those dreams have remained and they’re turned around.

    Who’d have thought they’d lead ya (Who’d have thought they’d lead ya)
    Here where we need ya (Here where we need ya)

    Yeah we tease him a lot cause we’ve hot him on the spot, welcome back,
    Welcome back, welcome back, welcome back.

Leave a Reply

