A (Not So) New Car

So, I’ve got a Ford minivan, and a Saturn.  Nice enough cars, but since I drive the van  – my wife gets the Saturn due to a longer commute – I get to pay a lot of money every week for gas.  With 17 or so miles a gallon and a 22 gallon tank, the $60 tank fills tend to get my blood boiling.  But what to do? 

Apparently, what to do is just be in the right place at the right time.  Through a confluence of circumstances that worked out very well for me, I now have myself another car.  I got it at an excellent price, and it’s much more fuel-efficient than the van.  It’s not something I would have normally thought of driving, but sometimes fate makes the choice for you.  Here it is…

FestivaLogo

That’s right…a 1989 Ford Festiva L with a 1.3 liter 4-cylinder motor and a 4-speed manual transmission.  I haven’t documented it myself yet, but it’s said I’ll get about 35-40 miles per gallon.  Not bad for a 20 year old car.  It’s pretty spare all the way around, from the 12″ rims to the AM/FM 2 speaker radio.  But what the hell, there’s barely the slightest hint of rust, it’s clean, it has enough leg room for my 6′ 1″ size,  and it’s got only 56,000 miles on the clock.  Another view:

FestivaLeft

It’s practical.  It’s plain.  It’s old.  But it’s perfect!

5 Responses to “A (Not So) New Car”

  1. Pauldub Says:

    Bet it looks like a shriner’s car when you get out. But I love it. An 89 with only 56k? That’s a bargain in my book. But it will be tough to get parts.

  2. Derek J. Punaro Says:

    I’m sorry, this is a non-government-approved fuel conservation effort. You will be required to trade in this vehicle via the federally-sponsored “Cash-For-Clunkers” program so it can be crushed and then you will purchase a new vehicle which you cannot afford but will pay off over the next 5+ years.

  3. Red Says:

    They’ll have to pry my cold, dead fingers from the steering wheel.

  4. buffawhat Says:

    Sweet wheels man. I bet she’s a breeze to parallel park.

  5. Question For My Mechanic Friends « Red’s Basement Says:

    […] For My Mechanic Friends By Red I’ve got a little problem. You all know that 1989 Festiva I’ve got, right? Well, the front brakes are getting sort of bad, and I’ve got to change […]

Leave a Reply

