because you care

This morning I fired up the computer to see what was going on in the world, and my Yahoo home page was headlining a story about the Obamas and whether or not they broke a campaign promise by getting a Portugese Water Dog from a breeder.  I don’t want to get into the story, but you can read all about it if you wish.

In fact, that’s the point.  We all will.   I’ll even bet there are more people out there that can name Barack Obama’s dog than could name his Treasury Secretary.  Priorities, people!  Is there anyone out there that voted for Obama because they really thought he was going to get a shelter dog?  Was that your deciding factor?  I wish that everything else in my world was so well taken care of – like the economy, wars, terrorism, you know, boring shit like that – so I could completely immerse myself in such a meaningless issue as the president’s dog.

I for one couldn’t care less what kind of dog the Obamas have gotten for their kids.  Based on what the media reports, I’m in the minority.  My personal opinion is that the media is like any other vendor of products or services; they provide a product that people want.  So if people really didn’t care about the damned dog, we wouldn’t be hearing about the damned dog.  But obviously the damned dog matters to enough people that the media is running with it.  I just happen to think that’s really messed up.

/rant over

2 Responses to “because you care”

  1. Bachamer Says:

    Amen brother! The so-called news hardly ever reports any news. It’s either talking about American Idol, Dancing with the Stars or spewing pure hatred. I am so sick of it. And yes, it is messed up!

  2. Craig Says:

    What about Rene Robert’s interview with Bucky Gleason? What do you think about that Red???

Leave a Reply

