strange music

I noticed something weird out of the blue yesterday – I like old music.   I don’t mean classical music, which I like as wel, but I’m really talking about popular on-the-radio my-parents-saw-them-when-they-weren’t-nostalgia-acts pop and rock music.  I like some newer stuff, and I’m always catching a new song here and there, but it’s kinda freaking me out that 75% of the music I really like was recorded from 1965 – 1984. 

I am not sure what this says about me, but I’ll bet a lot of people out there have some really good theories.

6 Responses to “strange music”

  1. Becky Says:

    Because that’s when the best music was made – just ask 97Rock. Then again, I fall into the category of having seen and heard the groups before they were nostalgia acts.

  2. Red Says:

    Actually, Becky, I can’t stand 97 Rock. I think that the majority of what I listen to is the stuff you’d only hear there on a deep tracks marathon or something. Of course, I haven’t listened to 97 Rock regularly in about 5 years…have they changed at all? They didn’t seem to in the 10 years before that.

  3. Becky Says:

    Truthfully, when I turn on the radio and plan to leave it on one station for awhile I prefer the Lake 107 for exactly that reason – deeper tracks and more variety. 97 Rock has been playing the same stuff forever (that was sort of a snide remark originally on my part). I got sick of the greatest hits the first time around.

  4. Becky Says:

    107 at least used to have a greater variety. Then again most of my radio listening occurs in the car, bouncing from station to station.

  5. Pauldub Says:

    97 Rock wouldn’t be bad if they would just SHUT THE HELL UP AND PLAY SOMETHING DIFFERENT ON OCCASION! I try to catch 91.3 when I can but they’re a pretty week signal. Right now I’m kinda stuck on Pink Martini (Lounge) and DJ Tiesto (Electronica) But I can get real excited if I hear Rarer Earth or Uriah Heep

  6. indabuff Says:

    97.7 HTZED…they play a nice mix of old and new…I always find myself tuning them in…

Leave a Reply

