win one for red

As I mentioned before, I have just about given up on the 2008-2009 Buffalo Sabres.  I pretty much skipped out of watching the game this past Saturday.  In fact, for the first time this year I was making plans to NOT watch any more games. 

Then my Father-in-law gave me tickets for Friday’s game against the Maple Leafs.  It will be my first game of the year.

So now, for me, the season comes down to this – win Friday, and I’m as OK as I will get this year.  The Sabres beating the Maple Leafs and not losing anyone to a career-threatening injury is about all I am asking out of the rest of the year.  Beat the Maple Leafs in front of about 8,000 of their fans so that I can laugh at them all the way out of the building.  Beat them so I can say that the only game I went to this year was  a good one. 

I don’t know if they’ll even be in the playoff race anymore by Friday, but I’m not exprecting it, so that would just be icing on the cake.  And if they pull out the improbable and actually sneak into the playoffs, God Bless America and all hail the Blue and Gold. 

But for now, please, no matter what, beat the Leafs Friday.

Leave a Reply

