casual friday

I have just finished watching the Buffalo Sabres fall in spectacular fashion to the Philadelphia Flyers.  In fact, I may have just finished watching the Sabres for the rest of the year.  I have been a Sabres fan for my entire life, and I know that next year I’ll be back, and the year after, and the year after that.  But as of now, I can’t take it anymore.  I can’t watch them lose.  I can’t watch them defile the uniform I love.  You know how I know that the Sabres have lost me?  Casual Friday.

Every Friday is “Casual Friday” at work.  For all of the sports fans around the office, it’s almost mandatory to wear the team colors.  Well, for the first time this year, I couldn’t bring myself to wear my Sabres gear to work.  In fact, the number of people wearing  jerseys, t-shirts, sweatshirts, etc. has been dwindling down to almost zero.  ZERO.  And when I can’t even get myself to don a Sabres hoodie, I know it’s over.  Oh, sure, there are times in the middle of the year when the team might be haaving a rough spell, but somehow we all get through it with the colors flying.  But I know that it is time.  Time to cut bait and move on.  If by some miracle they win four in a row, I might come back.  But until that happens, I’m not going to put myself through the pain.

On the plus side, I can probably break out my Bills gear until they completely implode.  Ought to give me a good few months, anyways…

Leave a Reply

