bleary eyes

One of these weekend nights I would like to be able to stay home and not have to deal with stress or drama.  I am not sure what it is that draws these things to my humble abode, but I’ve just about reached the end of my rope.  I left my house Friday night to enjoy the hockey game at my brother’s place, and I am not gone an hour before I get a call telling me that we’ve had an ambulance and two police cars at my house.  No one in my immediate family was hurt, but a family member’s boyfriend had a panic attack of some sort and now the whole neighborhood is probably wondering what the hell’s going in in our house. 

Saturday night, my eldest daughter was not feeling well, crying because her stomach hurt and she was feeling so bad that I had to take her back home to her mother’s house at 9pm.  She’s felt better yesterday, and came over for a few hours to play with her sisters again.  Last night wasn’t too bad except that the kids didn’t want to go to bed until 9:30pm or so, and it took a heroic effort to get them settled down.  Not to mention that they were too tired to cooperate with me in the tiniest matters this morning. 

Of course, all three of these evenings ended up with me overtired, and not able to sleep until the wee hours, and therefore not sufficiently rested for the next bit of drama.  Is it asking too much to be able to get the kids in bed at 8:30 and not have to worry about anything until the next morning?  Or is this the part where some of my elders and others with children tell me to shut it?

Leave a Reply

