rest

So it’s all over.  The months of planning, budgeting, scrimping, saving, buying, wrapping, cooking, cleaning, giving, singing, thanking, driving, and cleaning again are over.  I am happy for my children, who reaped untold rewards for being nice, not naughty.  I love my family, and count myself among the blessed who are given this time to spend with them.  I’ve had a wonderful time with everyone we’ve been with through this holiday season.

And now I’m ready for a rest.

I’ve still got a couple things to do; another gift exchange, some more cleaning up after the kids, and of course the ringing in of the new year.  It’s also probably going to be the busiest week of the year for me at work as we try to push out as much business as we can to end a bad year on a decent note.  But come January 3rd, it’s me-time.  I swear to God I’m going to take a 2 hour nap every afternoon of the next 4 weekends, and set no goals other than to lose my Christmas weight. 

I know this will not happen, but it’s worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

