how about some clothes?

I have just surveyed the brand new temporary play room in my house.  This room was once referred to as the living room, and will be again, but is now completely overrun by the kids’ new goodies.  There are toys all around the tree, next to the TV, blocking the font door, and even occupying a 10 foot stretch of the hall to the bedrooms.  My house is by no means large; at 950 sq. ft. it’s your ordinary average 3 bedroom starter ranch.  But I’m telling you, I have retreated to my basement in the forlorn hope that I’ll finally be able to find a large enough area to stretch my legs out.

I would never presume to tell people what to buy for my children except to ask before buying them guns or a drum set.  I would just mention that it is an incontrovertible fact that clothes take up less floorspace than toys, and also there are fewer screaming and crying contests over shirts and dresses than a really cool doll house.  I’m just sayin’.My kids are thrilled once again this year with all the wonderful things that al of you thoughtful folks got for them this year.  And I figure that we’ll get the toys all cleaned up and put away in time for the 4th of July.

Leave a Reply

