high on the mountain of work

I had to take an impromptu day off yesterday.  There were work and sick and kid issues in the household, and I didn’t have much choice.  I have now been reminded of why I don’t do that more often.  It is amazing how much work can pile up on me in one freaking day.   I had 10voice mails, 55 e-mails requiring immediate attention, and my entire morning was dedicated to answering questions for people that kept stopping by my cubicle.  I’ve got it manageable now, and will be caught up in about a day and half, but I hope I don’t have to take another day off for a while.

Maybe I’m not indispensable, but I sure feel like it right now!  The warm, sweet smell of job security!  Ooops, I’d better not say that out loud…

Leave a Reply

