parents magazine

So my wife gets this magazine.  "Parents",  I think the name is.  I was reading it today, and I was intrgued by the large section devoted to dads.  Like, a half a page.  There were something like five pages devoted striclty to mothers and things they can do for themselves, and the rest of the thing almost seems like fathers are pretty useless.  I'm sure it's got something to do with their target audience, but do dads really deserve that short a mention?  Or is there some other parenting magazine that has got a little more for fathers?  I mean, the male of our species isn't completey useless yet, right?

2 Responses to “parents magazine”

  1. KevinP Says:

    One of my pet peeves, Red.

    Most husbands today share in all aspects of family life, but are generally shown by the media (on sitcoms and ads) to be a bunch of bumbling dorks.

    Watch how many commercials show the poor, helpless Dad/husband be rescued by SuperMom. Compare and contrast with real life.

  2. Red’s Basement » Blog Archive » more on parents Says:

    […] This started as a response to KevinP in an earlier post, but I got to rambling on and I thought it wouldn't hurt to get it out there further…..  […]

Leave a Reply

