reasons to hate (admire) american idol

Reason #1,325,491:  The results show.  There's nothing like an entire half-hour dedicated simply to telling the world which poor sap got eliminated this week.  Mr. Seacrest, there's something completely pathetic about your routine.  You are not building suspense, you're making me want to throw my TV out the nearest window.  Not that I'm watching, of course. 

Oh, WTF ever.  Yes I am too goddamit.  My wife watches, and I sit there for the whole show ripping on everyone and anything to do with it and then I managed to pick out wchich one was getting eliminated before the first commercial break.  I am so frigging weak.  And yes, the fact that they can pull me in even though I hate the concept is the reason that you can't help but be impressed by how successful they are.

Dammit, my far away brother, I watch it too.

4 Responses to “reasons to hate (admire) american idol”

  1. Derek J. Punaro Says:

    Agreed. The results shows are really stretching to fill a half hour. I Tivo that down to about 5 minutes.

  2. Steve Gordon Says:

    Red- I was wondering when you were going to come out of the closet. You knew a little too much about the show to never have watched it.

    As for me, I’m in the same boat as Jules from Pulp Fiction (“my girlfriend’s a vegetarian, which pretty much makes me a vegetarian too..”) My wife watches the show religiously, so I do too.

  3. Sean McLaughlin Says:

    Where were you guys when I admitted a few weeks ago that I watch it? Ryan Seacrest and Simon get some good shots at each other. On the record, I’m not a fan. Off the record, I cant stop watching.

  4. Red Says:

    Sean, we felt like letting you hang for a while…

Leave a Reply

