jury duty

Recently I received a summons for jury duty.  With the impending birth of my daughter, I called and postponed my service for 3 months.  That was pretty easy, I thought.  Today I got another piece of mail with the juror’s questionnaire, and that thing seemed pretty weak.  But it brought to mind the differing attitudes regarding this civic duty.  My own attitude is that jury service is something that you do as a contributing member of society.  Unless you have a really good reason (and I don’t mean washing your hair), I think you really ought to do it.  I think it’s a good idea not only for the satisfaction of the duty of citizenship, but also for the experience and knowledge of the judicial process that you may gain.  I had a heck of an experience when called for a local municipality’s jury duty.  Turned out the defendant was an old roommate of mine.  That was a little awkward to say the least. 

But how do you feel about jury duty?  Civic responsibility or pain in the ass?

2 Responses to “jury duty”

  1. Derek J. Punaro Says:

    I got called a couple years ago and I really wanted to be on the jury. I got called for a murder case. They were interviewing and had dismissed a lot of potential jurors and I got my call to sit in the juror box and be interviewed. I was sitting in the 4th chair, they said yes to #1 and #3… and that was all they needed. So I ended up going home, still never having sat on a jury. I’d be glad to do it next time around.

  2. Red Says:

    My first chance was at racketeering trial. Mob related. Same thing, missed by one.

Leave a Reply

