game over

Buffalo wins tonight, 6-2, over the Maple Leafs.  Didn’t seem to be the best effort for the Sabres, but it didn’t really need to be.  Derek Roy had a nice hat trick.  So whatever happened to the swarm of hats that used to hit the ice?  I think like one hat went out there.  Maybe it’s got to do with the fact that no one has a $6.00 hat to throw anymore.  I just bought a Sabres / Canucks Class Of ’70 hat and it was like $21.00.  Not throwing that one away….

4 Responses to “game over”

  1. randomthoughts101 Says:

    Red, I think most fans didn’t realize at first that Roy had gotten his 3rd goal. I actually didn’t think he scored it until I saw the replay the second or third time.

  2. randomthoughts101 Says:

    But I agree, most of the lids we wear to a game are not something we want to just chuck onto the ice. I might throw my old Little League baseball hat down there but not my Buffalo Bills visor. Or my 2001 NCAA Hockey Tournament hat. Or my new Corona hat. Or my black Sabres hat with the original team logo. Or my Pittsburgh Penguins hat. You get the point.

  3. Steve Gordon Says:

    Didn’t Roy score with under a minute left also. Maybe there just weren’t a lot of folks left.

  4. Square Peg Says:

    4 seconds left, I believe. Next time the Sabres play at home the fans should take old hats with them and throw them when he’s introduced in the beginning.

Leave a Reply

